Verify Your Internet Connection Speed

So, you pay big money for 1.5mbps (megabits per second) download speed and 800kbps  (kilobits per second) upload speed.  You surf around happily for days, weeks . . . years.

Are you really getting what you’re paying for?  Most people have no idea.  I  recently asked my parents  if their Internet connection was performing as expected.  They said, “Well, it seems sort of slow, but we don’t know.”  I checked it for them.  They were paying for 512kbps download, 256kbps upload.   Their actual download speed?  100kbps.  Upload?  The same.

I called their ISP (Internet Service Provider) and they agreed to bump them up to the next level of service for the next three years (the same amount of time they’d been getting hosed).

Test your Internet speed by doing one of two things:

  1. google “online speed test” and try a random speed test or
  2. go to speakeasy and check out their free online speed test.  Click on the city nearest you (under “choose a server”) then wait (hopefully not for long).
2 responses to “Verify Your Internet Connection Speed

  1. cool tip. I knew it already but have never checked. I’m getting about half of what I should be

    • Thanks John. It’s pretty common. I always tell my friends to check it their speeds … to make sure they’re getting what they pay for.

Leave a Reply

