Azio Wireless Adapter

Ever heard of Azio?  I didn’t think so.

I’ve been trying to hook my old computer up to my Panasonic HDTV.  Part of the process involved making my old desktop wireless capable.

So, I began looking at different wireless adapters.  I looked at Linksys, D-Link, Belkin . . . all the big names.  The prices were too high for my cheap self.

The best deal I found was a Belkin, at Wal-Mart, for about $25.  It got crummy customer reviews so I decided to keep shopping.  Finally I settled on a Trendnet model I found for $24.  After a couple hours of surfing, the connection became intermittent, so I returned it.

Finally, at a local computer accessory store, I found the perfect buy.  The fabulous Azio AWU254.  It cost a whopping $16.  I was fairly disappointed at the steep price, but I decided to take the plunge.

Setting it up on my machine (Windows XP Media Center 2005) was straightforward.  I had trouble getting it to connect automatically each time using Azio’s configuration utility, so I enabled Microsoft’s Wireless Zero Configuration service.  To do this, go to Start–>Run then type in “services.msc” and scroll to “Wireless Zero Configuration.”  Right-click it then scroll to “properties.”  Start the service by clicking “start” and change the startup type to “automatic.”  After that your connection should start up automatically.

I’ve been connected for the last three hours.  No intermittent connections.  No dropped service.  In fact, I’m sitting in my easy chair typing this post on my big-screen.

Nice.  Thanks, Azio.

Leave a Reply

